• Ozempic Butt
  • Posts
  • How to Deal with Nausea – 65 Shared Smarts

How to Deal with Nausea – 65 Shared Smarts

Let's cut to the chase: semaglutide works, but the nausea can be quite bothersome.

I’ve gathered the most valuable tips and tricks shared by people who’ve faced the same nausea challenges. Think of this as a buffet of advice (sorry if that makes you nauseous) – sample a bit of everything and see what sits well with you.

Here is the collective wisdom from the front lines:

FOOD-BASED SOLUTIONS

"Peppermint tea is a godsend. I do two bags of tea in a cup."

"Candied ginger, cut up little bits of it and suck on it (and eat it). Best place to find candied ginger or ginger candies seem to be Asian supermarkets."

"The only thing that helped my nausea was eating a few green grapes. It did go away over time but I still feel icky from time to time."

"Ginger chews are GREAT. Even pickled ginger helped me huge."

"Beano, taken before meals helps immensely (when you are at the sulfur burps and bloating stage)."

"I carry bags of sunflower seeds with me at all times."

"A few grapes, cherries, or watermelon will usually help me."

"The only thing that saved me was white seedless grapes... nice and cold out of the fridge! Just a few would quell my nausea in minutes."

"Ginger has helped me. With the worst of the nausea, smell some isopropyl alcohol. Sounds crazy but it works like a charm."

"Drink ginger ale, sip, cold or room temp, just keep going. You get some fluids and the ginger naturally calms your nausea."

"Ginger fresh, cut it up and put it in hot water or buy ginger shots from the supermarket."

"Ginger tea with shredded ginger! Even Coke Zero with lemon water and shredded ginger! These helped me a lot!"

"I've found that ongoing nausea is almost always caused by an empty stomach. The crackers hit that immediately."

"Ice cold water and saltines or plain bread."

"I drink the Cira hydration powder on Amazon, it seems to keep my nausea at bay!"

"Hot chicken broth and peppermint tea help me more than Zofran, strangely."

"Smoothies. I put Greek yogurt and protein powder in mine."

"Apple cider vinegar diluted in water! Works every single time."

DOSE MANAGEMENT

"It will dissipate after a bit, mostly. Jumping up the dose always causes issues as your body adjusts."

"You’ll eventually get past the nausea, but it might come back for a day or two with each dosage increase for 2-3 weeks."

"I struggled really badly and in consultation with my doctor, I went to twice weekly injections of .25. It helped a lot."

"Do injection right before bed."

"Take your shot at night before bed with a Dramamine."

"If you start having side effects, try splitting the dose to lessen those side effects. 1/2 on the 1st day, 2nd half on the 4th day."

"I avoid the nausea by taking a split shot. Half dose on day 1 and another half on day 4. Splits reduce nausea by better spreading the dose over the full week as compared to a single peak shot."

CHANGE INJECTION SITE

"Inject in your legs. Nausea virtually disappears. Stomach area = nausea for days."

"I was injecting in my stomach and the nausea was insane but then I started injecting in my leg, and the nausea got much better."

"Rotate your injection sites, the stomach is the first stop but gawd it makes it worse if you keep going there. Legs and upper arms."

"I started injecting into my leg per the advice on here and I no longer get the nausea!!!!"

"Changing injection sites (to the thigh) can make a huge difference."

STAY AHEAD OF HUNGER

"I noticed that the nausea hits when I haven’t eaten. I have to force myself to eat something and within 15-30 mins it’s gone. Just keep a protein shake nearby."

"Make sure to have a snack in between meals. Having an empty stomach for such a long time is what makes me have horrible side effects."

"You just need to eat. The more protein the better - Peanut butter, yogurt, protein shakes."

"I found I was most nauseated when I hadn’t had a lot of protein or was hungry."

"Nausea is low glucose. Trick is to eat something before you get nauseous as nausea is the worst. Don't go too long without eating. Maybe even eating carbs before bedtime if you wake up nauseous."

"Drink or eat a good amount of protein before you take the shot. I also recommend the thighs. My nausea is not as bad when I do this."

MIND HOW YOU EAT

"Pay attention to what you ate before the nausea hit. Make a list and try to avoid them as much as possible."

"Don’t overeat and you’ll probably be fine! Listen to your body."

"Small amounts of food when I feel nauseous and mint gum."

"Make sure that you stop eating as soon as you think the next bite will make you feel full. You won’t feel full at that next bite—you’ll feel sick!"

"I strongly recommend eating 5-6 small portions a day. Focus on protein and fruits and veggies. Try to avoid fried foods."

UNEXPECTED BUT EFFECTIVE TRICKS

"I use the rubbing alcohol wipes and rub behind my ears, and it works wonders. A friend is former military and he suggested it because it’s what they’d do when he was stationed overseas."

"Alcohol wipes... ER trick is to sniff the little prep wipes."

"Get a box of alcohol wipes. When you get queasy, open one and sniff it. It’s what we used in the hospital while we waited for a doctor to call us back and give us an order for nausea medicine."

"Rubbing alcohol. Sniff deeply for about 20-40 seconds. Voila! Gone."

"What finally worked? Mentos. Peppermint relaxes the gastric muscles so there’s no cramping."

"Liquid IV - it’s a powder you can add to water, and crackers help me more than anything else."

"What DOES help is citric acid. So sour candies, some sodas, but mainly Alka Seltzer. It helps so much."

"I smoke weed to cope, and it gives me an appetite so I can eat."

"Smoking a joint kills nausea for me."

"Fan blowing on your face works for me."

"Seabands are worth a try, or you can practice pressing on that pressure point on your wrist with your finger. They also make motion sickness patches for behind your ear."

"Hydrogen Peroxide. When I feel nausea, I pop open the cap and squeeze the sides of the bottle, forcing a whiff of air through the nozzle, and take a few deep breaths. It's weird but it works without taking more meds."

MEDICATION SOLUTIONS

Subscribe to keep reading

This content is free, but you must be subscribed to Ozempic Butt to continue reading.

Already a subscriber?Sign In.Not now

Reply

or to participate.